I Want the Old Slashdot Back

After freshly installing a Fedora 14 virtual machine (just trying to keep up with the different Linux distros. I really don’t think I can fully switch over to Linux on my primary machine due to my love of PC gaming. I won’t get a console, thank you very much!) I decide to fire up Firefox and go to Slashdot, just to test and see if things are working. It worked, but I now wish it didn’t work, since I saw something so horrid that I wish I never saw it. I saw… the horrible new Web 2.0 Slashdot.

In typical Web 2.0 fashion, it has lots of blank white space and that downright annoying as all hell header that scrolls down with the page. I have to ask: why? What was so wrong with the older design? Or even the design older than that? I’m hearing reports that it isn’t compatible with older browsers on older operating systems, so this is a major bummer. If only web designers would design sites the way I would: “if it doesn’t work with Netscape/Internet Explorer 3, then it sucks”. There might have been a lot of things to hate about 1990’s web design (such as most GeoCities pages), but at least for the most part it sucked less. I’d love to hear what you think of the new design.

Written from my Fedora 14 Virtual machine.

 

EDIT: Of course here is the news entry about the redesign itself.

2 Responses to “I Want the Old Slashdot Back”

  1. hwheeler@mindspring.com Says:

    I have not been to /. since the redesign. I keep searching on google for any news of the site coming to their senses or for any way to disable the nightmare but so far nothing but fail. I have a low 5 digit user ID and used to hit /. 6+ times a day, but I guess it is time for me to move on and find some other place to hang out. Do you have any suggestions for:
    1. Work arounds to disable the horrible web 2.0 stuff or otherwise get the old display back.
    2. Other sites which might fill the void left by /. as they commit web design suicide.
    Thanks.

    • stoperror Says:

      I’m really starting to not like Slashdot anymore. The users and editors both, are turning it into a crappy Digg clone. The editors by (not even editing the posts they post) posting the crappiest and most inane things ever. With the users you have the old crowd. The “get off my lawn until you use proper grammer*” and someone else replying and it just gets out of control. Then you have the new crowd/Digg crowd trying to turn Slashdot into a Digg clone.

      If only someone would create a place like Slashdot used to be.

Leave a Reply

