I’m Sorry Mr. Jobs, but I’m Afraid This is it.

I’m not an Apple fanboy. Quite the opposite, actually. I dislike almost everything “Apple”. The control restrictions they place. The overpriced hardware. The (parts of the) community that consider Steve Jobs to be godlike. Hell, even a God apon Earth. But, I could handle it for the most part. Maybe a jab here and a small rant there, but I never hated Apple. That is, until now. Enter the 2010 Apple/Steve Jobs. The massive turd that is the SuperSized iPod touch, err iPad, rather. Steve’s “Thoughts on Flash”, where he has the balls to rip the “openness” (or lack of) of Flash. Steve, shouldn’t you look at the products you produce before even talking about openness? How come I can’t install whatever I want on an iPad? Why can I not install OS X on any old IBM PC compatible system? You’re just as “open” as Adobe is, Apple.

And then today Steve talks about a patent battle against Ogg Theora, where he says:

All video codecs are covered by patents. A patent pool is being assembled to go after Theora and other “open source” codecs now. Unfortunately, just because something is open source, it doesn’t mean or guarantee that it doesn’t infringe on others patents. An open standard is different from being royalty free or open source.

Steve, how about that openness you spoke of earlier?

Written on my Windows XP x64 system, and proud of it.

Leave a Reply

