Windows 7 Works with a VIA C7.. well somewhat

Since my default machine (an Athlon 64) decided to go get fried, I’ve had to use my fallback machine, which is a Via C7. This C7 in paticular is 1500MHz, has 128KB of L2 cache, and features the MMX,SSE,SSE2, and SSE3 instruction extentions, while my Athlon 64 was 1800MHz, had 512KB of L2 machine and featured all the instruction additions that the C7 does plus 3dnow and x86_64.

Compared to that machine.. this thing is slow. My old CPU counted PI to 1 million digits in around 40 seconds. This bad boy? Over 360 seconds. Now that I’ve got the fact that is slow drilled into your head, you probably wonder if this CPU’ll handle 7. It does. But not extrodinarily so. It seems XP is the best [Microsoft] OS for this beast.

3 Responses to “Windows 7 Works with a VIA C7.. well somewhat”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    As I understand it, VIA is more concerned with low power usage than performance per-clock.

  2. stoperror Says:

    Yes, I’ve read someplace that 2 VIA CPU cycles equal 1 AMD or Intel CPU cycle. But hopefully the Nano (which is a far better CPU) will do better. Until I have the money for a new motherboard and CPU (I’ve been thinking of going back to Intel, but as always, the price is making me want to choose AMD again), this’ll have to do.

  3. stoperror Says:

    This was with the beta, by the way. I’m downloading the RC now (decided to wait to hopefully get a better download speed), maybe it’ll be faster with that.

Leave a Reply

