Linux for the 1983rd time!

I’ve had more disasters with Linux than I can count, but this time I’m going to do things a bit differently. Unlike the last few times when I used Debian, this time I’ll use Ubuntu. I’ll download and burn the minimal Ubuntu iso. I’ll install it and then install the software I want. Hopefully I’ll finally be able to ditch Windows. Please make it be this time!

6 Responses to “Linux for the 1983rd time!”

  1. stoperror Says:

    Ahh, the way I want it configured.This is in a live environment. I have to re download the iso I want as the one I downloaded was corrupted.

  2. Andrew T. Says:

    I’ve run into a fair number of issues myself while getting Linux to work satisfactorily on my laptop.

    Today, I finally made progress to the point where Ubuntu 8. no longer displays a blank white screen on startup and home network file sharing is up and running to a satisfactory degree…though in both cases I had to consult dozens of convoluted workarounds, and the system seems to have inexplicably gotten slower for good measure, Oh well; it’s a start…

  3. stoperror Says:

    Ahh.. I really try to like Linux. I like that I can get a “minimal” install up and running within minutes and customize it to my liking. But I don’t feel right using it. The apps (mostly games) don’t run well through WINE. And, the native games for Linux are “ehh”. Skulltag, for example, does run natively on Linux, but in it’s native form, it lacks Internet Doom Explorer, a GUI to search for servers.

    That’s why I’m thinking of getting an Intel Atom box and install Linux/*BSD on that. Tweak with it through SSH. No headaches.

  4. Bandwidth Bandito Says:

    Sounds like you like to get under the hood of your OS, FreeBSD is a good OS for this. I have used FreeBSD for creating network gateway servers for a few years now and it is really modular. Almost a LEGO OS if you will. Great for making a custom box that does what you want it to, without any unnecessary bells and whistles.

    LINUX (multi variations) is great if you just want to get on with it, but FreeBSD is the way to go if you want to learn how it all hangs together.

    Hope this works out for you.

    BB

  5. John Egenhofer Says:

    I’ve tried Ubuntu before. I love it. But, I had hardware problems, and I have never been able to figure out how to compile and make installs with programs from source.

  6. stoperror Says:

    The problems I have with *NIX likes are with some of the more “simplistic” hardware. Network cards, sound cards, PS/2 mice.

    And again, I personally prefer the FreeBSD development model better.
    1: It’s not the FreeBSD kernel. It’s the FreeBSD operating system.
    2: FreeBSD 6.0 was released in 11/05. 6.4 was released in 11/08. Can’t say that about Ubuntu, can we?

    Oh, and uh, thanks. Your making me want to mess with *BSD/Linux again.

Leave a Reply

