Ubuntu 9.04: A mixed bag.

I could go on for hours about my Linux exploits through just the last few months alone. One minute I love it. The next, I despise it and want nothing to do with it again. Overall I rather like Linux. It gives back what you give it. Proficient at the command line? You’ll be able to acess your system at its fullest potential. But the distros… Oh, the distros. Thats one of Linux’s biggest problems. Choice is good. But too much choice? That’s bad. And then theres the lack of standardization between distros. Do I use RPM? Do I use apt-get? Or, do I use tarballs? Do I use QT? Do I use GTK? That’s a criticism of Linux at a whole, not Ubuntu.

Ubuntu was originally released in 2004. Between 2004 and now, there have been 9 releases. From 4.10 (Warty Warthog) to 8.10 (Intrepid Ibex), and now 9.04 (Jaunty Jackalope), which is planned to be released in April. 9.04 includes several updates. GNOME has been upgraded to 2.26, Firefox to 3.1, along with several other apps. However the biggest thing is the inclusion of ext4 support. ext4 is the latest file system for Linux (akin to NTFS and FAT12/16/32). In other words, this ain’t a big release. I must say that it was fairly stable, during my short, but moderatly thorough LiveCD run.

I am worried about the development cycle. 6 Alphas, but only 1 Beta and RC? I feel that they should have equally distributed the test releases. Say 3 Alphas, 2 Betas and an RC. Thats probably why the last few releases weren’t quite as stable as some of the older ones.  But, Vista had countless pre-release builds so, I can’t say that those helped it. I liked some of Ubuntu 9.04, but disliked other parts of it. Hopefully it’ll be fixed before it ships in April.

NOTE: Sorry, but I didn’t have time to post screenshots.

4 Responses to “Ubuntu 9.04: A mixed bag.”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    I tried to try 9.04 but couldn’t get it to install a bootloader… Oh well.

  2. stoperror Says:

    I just used the LiveCD. Overall it was decent, but it needs work. I hope it isn’t a rush job. The last few releases used the Redmond style of coding.

  3. Andrew T. Says:

    I’ve been poking Ubuntu 8 around on my new laptop, and my assessments have generally been on the positive side: The interface is intuitive enough for fallen-away Windows users such as yours truly to find their way around with; the UI is generally restrained and tasteful in appearance, and their support resources can’t be beat. This is in spite of the issues I’ve had: I’ve had a bunch of strange display problems since upgrading from Ubuntu 5; I’ve yet to have it properly pick up my other computer on my home network, and there are a few UI elements that remind me a little too much of the Windows 98 Explorer for comfort. Oh well; I suppose perfection is too much to ask for…

  4. stoperror Says:

    I think that Nautilus is too restrictive and that Konqueror is too feature rich. Dolphin does strike a decent mix of both, but its stability is to be questioned. I personally think that XFEis a great “Windows-like” way to browse your files, and its fairly stable too.

    And the not being able to connect to your computer on your home network. Did you try entering “smb://192.168.x.x/” or “smb://COMPUTERNAME” into Nautilus’s address bar?

Leave a Reply

