User agents.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.2; en-US; rv:1.9.0.5) Gecko/2008120122 Firefox/3.0.5

That’s my User Agent. And through my years on the web I’ve seen some pretty weird ones. Like BeOS running Firefox, or some Windows 3.11 holdouts (I know Windows 3.11/MS-DOS 6.22 is a great combo, and is one of the most stable DOS/Windows solutions EVER, but guys…), but I’d like to nitpick the user agents. I have nothing to do today, and it’s 14:53. So it’s gonna be a pretty long and boring night.

My nitpick is the Windows NT x.x part. These days I think we know that anyone running Windows 5.x or higher is in fact running Windows NT, as Microsoft (somewhat thankfully) discontinued the DOS based line. I can the usage of the NT moniker for NT 4.0, as at that time the DOS based lined was still going.

Leave a Reply

