x64 Windows?

I’ve been contemplating switching over to x64 Windows, a task done already by Don. From what I’ve heard it’s got some positives and some negatives. One of the positives would be can support over 4GB of RAM, with 128GB being the max, but I don’t even have 4GB. The other, of course, would be security. There’s less exploits for the  x64 system, something to do with the way the kernel works. And, from some of the people, I hear that some software works better on x64 systems, be it x86 software, or natively compiled x64 software. Of course there’s a lotta negatives out there. Lack of NTVDM support, which means no more Win16 apps, and no more DOS apps. Of course I can use DOSBox, but some software works on the NTVDM and doesn’t work on DOSBox. Plus, I’d like to be able to play the CD version of System Shock, which requires a Core 2 Duo to play well on DOSBox. I can always just install DOS 6.22 on my old C7-D machine and play it, but drivers can be a problem. And some of the software I use daily comes within a Win16 installer. What do you think? Should I finally switch to x64, or should I stick with x86?

UPDATE: I’ve “obtained” a Windows XP x64 ISO. HEY IT WAS A TRIAL. Going to take it for a spin and see how it pairs up against good ole x86.

5 Responses to “x64 Windows?”

  1. stoperror Says:

    AND I forgot to say that there may be driver problems. The graphics card, sound card, and network chip do in fact have x64 drivers for download, but my TV tuner doesn’t.

  2. Don_HH2K Says:

    When I first got my x64 machine, I ran some benchmarks of the 32-bit XP against the 64-bit XP within the context of what I’d be using the system for. Encoding video in 64 bits nearly doubled the number of frames processed per second on the newer codecs like WMV9 and H.264, up to 30fps from 20fps-ish, so I could encode in real-time instead of buffering the content raw to my hard drive. 64-bit compressors using normally memory-intensive algorithms like bzip2 and 7-zip’s LZMA flew past the 32-bit versions.

    Speaking of 7-zip, what’s nice about most of those 16-bit installers is that many of them don’t make edits to system files or the Registry, so one can usually extract the contents of the installer with 7-zip and then run the contained program normally. That’s how I ended up installing things like the host software for my scanner.

  3. stoperror Says:

    Yeah, I heard that Photoshop even ran faster. And yes, 7Zip and installers is a trick I’ve already learned about, but didn’t think of. So, I’ll be able to play Tomb Raider 2 on x64 (which runs on Windows 95).

  4. stoperror Says:

    x64 is mostly installed. Just gotta download updates & my “must have” apps. Ooh.. and theres this “Active Windows now” dialog I gotta bypass…

  5. Don_HH2K Says:

    I know that Photoshop CS4 now has 64-bit extensions… On the older versions you’d be able to allocate 4GB of memory just to Photoshop, rather than to the entire system, though that doesn’t seem like it would make it any faster unless you’re dealing with NASA-resolution images.

    Then again I was comparing Elements 2 on a 1.4GHz Athlon to Elements 2 on a dual 2GHz Turion 64, the difference being about twenty seconds off the load time and no delays in applying effects whatsoever.

Leave a Reply

