Ubuntu Linux. It changes my views on Linux.

Last month I posted that I was thinking about switching to Linux before 2009, later I then decided to not switch, and that has pretty much been my opinion on it until today. Earlier this morning (around 3:30), I felt like taking Ubuntu for a spin, again. As you know, I’m not a big fan of eye candy. But when I first booted up the 8.04 LiveCD I just HAD to say “Wow”. The interface was just that good, plus it’s based on GNOME, which I just CAN NOT stand, so it amazing me even more. The color scheme. The desktop background. It just all comes together. Plus the LiveCD is faster then Windows XP, and actually rivals my 2000 installation in speed. This is nothing short of amazing. I may actually eat my words and install Ubuntu.

Here’s a screenie of the blog using FF3 on Ubuntu:
Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us

I enabled the subpixel smoothing option, so it probably won’t look as great on CRT’s.

2 Responses to “Ubuntu Linux. It changes my views on Linux.”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    You may want to check out Kubuntu, which is basically the same thing as Ubuntu but with KDE instead of GNOME.

    Unless, of course, Ubuntu changes your views on GNOME too.

  2. stoperror Says:

    Yeah. It changed my views. I used to hate the simplicty that GNOME offered, but hey, I guess I kinda like it now.

Leave a Reply

