2009: Year of the Linux Desktop (or not)?

I’m getting kinda sick of writing rants about how Windows 2000 is great or about the 1984-ish DRM schemes Holywood and software publishers think up, so I’ve decided to do something a bit different. As you know, I talk about Linux alot. Deep down inside I actually would love to use it as my operating system of choice, but due to my needs I can’t, just yet anyway. But others with much less complex needs can, and probably should. You might ask, why. Stability? Nope. Price. Due to the economic recession happening, people want things for as cheap as possible. People don’t want to have to spend $200, or even $100, on an operating system. And because of this, I feel that more people will be switching to Linux. 2009 may actually BE the year of the Linux desktop.

5 Responses to “2009: Year of the Linux Desktop (or not)?”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    So this is, what, the fifth Year of the Linux Desktop (according to Google)?

    I can’t help but wonder if there will ever be a Year of the Solaris Server, Year of the NetBSD Home Device, or a Year of the Arduino Microcontroller.

  2. stoperror Says:

    I highly doubt that Solaris would enter anyones home on a default desktop machine, even geeks. Well, maybe geeks that are employed at Sun… Plus, Linux is the most popular of those “dang-fangled geek software thingamajigs”.

  3. Maxim Bail Says:

    I am such a lame spammer. I want you to actually buy my pirated software that you can get for free. Would you actually belive that? And would you believe that the guy that runs this here site thinks its funny to modify my advertisement for such site that sells such software? It’s unthinkable I tell ya! This blogs template is correctly displayed in the window of my browser, unless of course, I was running a 1990’s era web browser. But its just an excuse. I don’t think your blog is interesting, I think making money off of unsuspecting saps, however, is.

  4. Andrew T. Says:

    Personally, I don’t think there’ll ever be a “year of the Linux desktop” per se. If it catches on to critical popular mass, it will do so gradually.

  5. stoperror Says:

    Now that I really think about it, I think it’d be the “year of less than 50% of Windows desktop”. Windows isn’t going to be on top forever, ya know.

Leave a Reply

