New monitor… dying graphics card.

As I’ve probably repeated five hundred times in the past week alone, I’ve got a new monitor for Christmas (and I got it early too :D) So I plug it in… set it up.. get it to look nice. Play some of my games on it. Overall a great monitor. So whats the matter exactly? Well… whats the good of having a great monitor if you have a crappy graphics card? My 8800GTS seems to be overheating. Idling at 84* Centigrade… So do I have to get a new graphics card too? If I do, it’ll be ATI, I can guarantee.

My 8800GTS Overheating

8 Responses to “New monitor… dying graphics card.”

  1. Andrew T. Says:

    Hmm, I hadn’t seen a software-based temperature gauge before.

  2. stoperror Says:

    Yeah. It’s part of the newer Nvidia drivers package. Plus the gfx card has been holding up (so far) so I HOPE I won’t need a new one. Integrated graphics sucks, big time. Playing a game of TFC with an Integrated S3 graphics chip made it stutter.

  3. Don_HH2K Says:

    I’d take a shot in the dark, and guess that you’re driving your new monitor at a higher resolution than the old one, thus accounting for the heat… But still, that’s a lot of heat.

    You may want to take a look at one of those expansion slot fans, since (to the best of my knowledge) the fan/heatsink on the 8800GTS isn’t removable. Either that or get some huge and fast intake fan, or just leave the side of the case off like I do.

    Or maybe you could make scrambled eggs while playing Crysis!

  4. stoperror Says:

    Yeah. Old monitor = Trusty ole’ 1024×768. New one = 1440×900. Heh.. I already kinda leave the side of the case off, as I kinda dented it once (before I got the card, that is). And I could leave my window open.

  5. Don_HH2K Says:

    Still, I run my laptop panel at 1400×1050, and even an external monitor sometimes upwards of 1600×1200 (highest I ever tried was 1920×1200; I know it goes higher but couldn’t get Windows to agree), and never had it idle at 84 degrees.

    Though I did get to the 105 degree melting point when I was playing the trial of WoW. I ended up having to send the computer back for repairs after the overheating damaged something to the point where it wouldn’t boot… and HP blamed it on a faulty motherboard.

  6. stoperror Says:

    I duct taped the computer. Hopefully it’ll work now.

  7. stoperror Says:

    And now for an update! I seem to have gotten it down to 78c. Hopefully I can use this fan I found for it.

  8. stoperror Says:

    I’ve decided to borrow a friends 8600 until I can fix it or buy a replacement.

Leave a Reply

