IP Address anomalies

I am a geek. More geekier than most, in fact. And I’m also weird. So what does that lead to? Abnormal fascinations of plain old weird things. Some of them more “mainstream” then others (such as my fascination of classic retail. Btw, I’m currently building, or trying to,  a replication of an old shopping center featuring a classic KMart), and others much more complex and deviating from the mainstream as much as possible. But one of my favorite ones is TCP/IP (its accompanying protocols) and IP addresses. I can recite most of the IP addresses I’ve used from memory. I just love those 4 groups of numbers ranging from 0 to 255.

And then I go look at the comments for my blog and what do I see? IP addresses! I never notices them before. And since I don’t host this myself I can’t look at access logs (as far as I know anyway), I get excited.  I geoip the IP’s (just because I like to know where my users are from, I can 100% guarantee you that I am not a creepy stalker!). So as I lookup Andrew T.’s I see that he lives in Wisconsin (which I already know since he talked about it on his blog) but the hostname ends in “*.hsd1.mn.comcast.net”. That’s happened to me (and several other people over the years), and I always wondered why? It also resloves to its proper (afaik) hostmask. And to top it off I’ve only seen this in 24.* IP addresses  (I’ve also seen it in 66.* IP addresses, but more on that in the next paragraph). Why does it happen? I’ve asked people on IRC, but they never gave me an answer, and I’ve never bothered to research why that happens online, so there may be an answer to the mystery.

Some time ago I got a 66.* IP address that ended in “*hsd1.ma.comcast.net”, so it surprised me that it did it again.  I’m not really that interested, but I had nothing to do, so I decided to blog about it. Anyway, I think 2 blog posts in one day is enough for you and me both.

5 Responses to “IP Address anomalies”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    My IP address has been fixed at 76.19.216.233 (I’d be more paranoid about giving it out, but my blog is hosted from home, so anybody can find it if they want to anyway) for quite some time now, despite Comcast giving out dynamic IPs. Ever since I upgraded my old Lucent RG-1000 to a Motorola WR850G, I stopped getting new IP addresses every time the router was reset. Convenient, because I don’t have to update my hardwarehacks.org DNS name very often.

    I’ve had Comcast IPs off 24.*, 76,*, 68.*, and 71.*. Back when we had Speakeasy DSL, the only IP block I ever got an address off was 66.*, and for that matter the only address I ever had was 66.92.74.131.

  2. stoperror Says:

    When I ran my very own IRC network (from like June ’07 till Feb ’08) it was fairly tedious for me to have to update the DNS settings because of some stupid network settings. Then I finally decided it wasn’t worth it due to having only 9 clients on it (including ChanServ, NickServ, MemoServ, and OperServ), while the entire network was capable of 96 users (32 users on one server and 64 on another).

  3. Don_HH2K Says:

    In the earlier days when I was hosting on Comcast, I had a DynDNS hostname with the DynDNS updater client running on my then-NT4 server. When I put Linux on my router, I set up a cron job for INADYN to run every 28 days to avoid the timeout, or when I get a new IP address.

  4. Andrew T. Says:

    Feel free to let me know when your Kmart replica comes along!

  5. stoperror Says:

    Not that good really. I’m not really artistic in an “analog” environment, but I’ll keep trying until I get there!

Leave a Reply

