15 Years of Doom

I kinda forgot that Doom turned 15 today. Today is a day that should be very important to geeks all over the world, much like August 24th is. As rumor says, the original shareware version (which consisted of the first episode “Knee Deep in the Dead”) was released on this day 15 faithful years ago to an FTP server at the University of Wisconsin. Spawning several sequels (DOOM II: Hell on Earth and DOOM 3, and forthcoming DOOM4), several expansion packs (Final Doom and Resurrection of Evil for Doom 3) thousands of fan created add-ons, and source ports for modern operating systems. Along with death matching we now take for granted there is no wonder why Doom still has the following it has. While other games (Quake or Half-Life) may be superior in some ways, they just didn’t effect the gaming industry quite like this one. For the BEST modern Doom experience I can only recommend Skulltag, though it is mainly designed for easy online gaming, it absolutely kills while offline too! Check Doomworld for mods.

My 486 isn’t quite dead yet.

4 Responses to “15 Years of Doom”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    I’m personally a Doomsday user. On top of that I’m running the jDoom Resource Pack (MD2 models and animations) and the jDoom Texture Pack (hi-res textures), along with a skybox mod that allows for more realistic lighting and fogging. Combine with some anisotropic filtering and antialiasing, dynamic lighting (the imps’ fireballs actually light the walls as they pass by), DirectSound 3D for positional sound, and OpenGL rendering at 1024×768 (yeah, my graphics card isn’t the world’s best) at a solid 60fps, and it’s one hell of a new look at the classic.

    I keep my old Compaq 486 (it’s now a P1 with the addition of a Pentium Overdrive 83) ready to go in case I ever need it. It’s specced out with an ATI Mach64 card, 32MB of memory, a 1.7GB hard drive with a Promise EIDEMax controller, and an Opti931 SBPro-compatible sound card.

  2. stoperror Says:

    I’ve heard/seen Doomsday with the jDoom resource pack. Like this I do like that it gives added life to the game, something games like Doom 3 or even Doom 4 most likely won’t be able to boas. Doom 3 was mediocre at best. Doom should NOT have a sotryline other then “Aliens are badguys. To win, kill em all and then go to the exit door”.

  3. Don_HH2K Says:

    I haven’t even managed to play Doom 3 yet. The graphics glitch out when I get to the first occurrence of an imp.

    But that’s to be expected. Mobility Radeon X300, ugh.

  4. Andrew T. Says:

    Given its great gameplay and importance, I’m almost embarassed to admit that I don’t have the full version of Doom on hand: I made do with the shareware version for a while; then found myself sidetracked by Duke Nukem 3D, Shadow Warrior, and other games. In addition, the multiple releases and incarnations of the game over the years make the right one a bit hard to track down. I suppose I’ll get around to it eventually.

    This seems as good a time as any to tout the Doom alpha screenshots on Nathan’s website…

Leave a Reply

