DRM: Helping Pirates Worldwide

NOTE: This article was originally supposed to be posted on December 8th, but instead I clicked ‘Save Draft’ so it was posted on the 9th, but the time stamp says the 8th.

Shouldn’t companies trust the consumer, their customer? Yep. Do they? Nope. DRM is just that. I pay fifty of my hard earned dollars for some game and they think of me as a pirate!? I payed for the game. The only thing their copy protection schemes are going to stop is simple give a friend a copy of the game, not the crack the game the day its released and release it on BitTorrent. Piracy is going to continue with or without DRM. I’m not against forms of copy protection where its “enter your CD key” and if its in use online you can’t play online. But the forms where it can mess up your computer… now that’s an entire different game.

I’ve always been a fan of the Splinter Cell series published by UbiSoft. They’re a good change from the DOOM-ish destroy every bad guy you find, where you have to think, and killing bad guys actually WON’T help you. So when the 3rd in the series (Chaos Theory) came out I was excited. I got the PS2 version of the game, as my hardware at the time was feeble, and wouldn’t give me adequate frame rates. Flash forward a few years and I’m trying to ditch the bulky TV and game consoles, so I’ve decided to get the PC versions of the PS2 games I have (if applicable). My first choice ofcourse was Chaos Theory, but when I read that it included the invaive spyware-ish crap known as DRM i was put off. I could purchase it on NewEgg for only $10, but I decided not to. Why? Well from the stories I read I decided that my hard drives, optical drives, and virtual drive software was worth more then the game. After all, the PS2 and PC versions differ only very slightly. And from the responses from the company about the articles, I decided I would NEVER play a game with StarForce in it again. Now of course I could buy it and then download a cracked copy of it off of BT, but why should I? Or I could just simply download the cracked copy, and not buy it. But again, why should I? Why should I reward them for wrongdoings? And all its doing is making more people pirate the game. Why should they buy it with DRM when they could get it for free WITHOUT DRM While I dislike Steam (Valve’s DRM system) and I do have several qualms with it, its a much better system then StarForce.

Oh and I’ll probably get Mr. Zhidkov to comment here about StarForce wanting to sue me for badmouthing their product. Hey, at least its another reader!

EDIT: Oh, and check out this entry of Don_HH2K’s blog.

3 Responses to “DRM: Helping Pirates Worldwide”

  1. Don_HH2K Says:

    For a long time, I figured that I could stay relatively DRM-free by actually sticking with console gaming. Over the years I’ve managed to acquire a PS2, Gamecube, and Xbox 1, which covers pretty much the entire spectrum of what was available… And for that matter, there are still titles being released on the PS2. That was part of the reason I dumped some $75 last summer on getting some HD gear imported from China and Japan, so that I could ditch the TV and run the consoles on my computer monitor in 480p/720p.

    Now I hear that vendors are implementing DRM on the console side, in effect locking the games down to one console or a couple of consoles. Goodbye try-before-you-buy rentals, and goodbye cheap used game market. For now it seems limited to the Xbox 360 and PS3, but if it weren’t for rentals and cheap used games, I probably wouldn’t have picked up Ocarina of Time for the N64 until much later, and not have developed any obsession with the Zelda franchise.

    (Although, maybe that would have been a
    good thing.)

  2. Andrew T. Says:

    “Stopping Content Restriction, Annulment, and Protection means not calling it DRM.” Unfortunately, I can’t claim that as an original quote.

    Although I’m fond of many computer games of the 1990s, I’ve been gravitating MORE towards consoles for more recent games. PC software DRM is one reason, and the fact that games lean ahead of all other software on the system requirements curve tends to be the other.

  3. stoperror Says:

    @Don_HH2K: WordPress marked your comment as spam due to over 3 links in the comment (I’ve since upped it to 5), but I must say this 1984-ish DRM must stop. We may not actually own the game in the sense that we can do what ever we wish, and I’m okay with that. But telling us we can’t sell our license (and accompanying disc)? That’s just bull.

Leave a Reply

