Opera 10: Good so far.

As I tested SeaMonkey 2 a few days ago, and that I found out that the Opera 10 Alpha was released, I decided to test Opera 10. The installation routine was a typical Opera installation, but I decided to install it in C:\Program Files\Opera 10 instead of upgrading my current Opera 9.62 installation.

When first start up, it looks virtually identical to Opera 9.5/9.6. The only really special features I can think of are that it successfully completes the Acid3 test at 100/100 (the ;atest FF 3.2 nightly still gets only 92/100), and SPELL CHECKING! It still has all the goodies you’d expect from Opera: speed and stability (it was pretty stable when I tested it, which is pretty good for an alpha).  My only nitpicks are that it doesn’t seem as fast anymore, maybe because the latest FF 3.1/3.2 nightly releases are faster? Other than that I can’t seem to find anywhere if it works with pre Windows 2000 systems, but I suspect it will. I hope they keep up the good work, and make Opera 10 a great browser.

EDIT: I completely over looked the fact that Opera 10 now has a better update system,  a screenshot can be seen here.

The Opera 10 Alpha may be downloaded from the Opera web site.

Opera 10 Alpha on startup

Opera 10 Alpha on startup

Opera 10 rendering the Acid 3 test

Opera 10 rendering the Acid 3 test

Opera 10 now has speellchecking ;)

Opera 10 now has speellchecking 😉

Leave a Reply

